Frequently Asked Questions
- If I am considering bankruptcy, do I need to take the pre-filing
bankruptcy credit counseling course
or the post-filing debtor education course?
- Both courses are required. The Bankruptcy Code requires individuals to complete credit counseling before
filing for bankruptcy, subject to certain exceptions, and requires debtor education to be completed after
the bankruptcy case is filed.
- What is the name of the second bankruptcy course I must take?
- Debtor education, post-filing course, pre-discharge course, and personal financial management class all
refer to the same class. This is the class you need to take after your bankruptcy case is filed.
- Do I need an attorney to file for bankruptcy?
- No, but most individuals choose to work with a bankruptcy attorney.
- Do I need to meet with a bankruptcy attorney before I complete the course?
- No, you may complete the course without notifying a bankruptcy attorney.
- When do I need to take this post-filing debtor education course?
- In a chapter 7 case, you must take the debtor education course: (1) after you file your bankruptcy case; and
(2) within 60 days after your first meeting date with your creditors and bankruptcy trustee. This meeting is
also known as a Sec. 341 meeting (named after Sec. 341 of the Bankruptcy Code which requires it).
In a chapter 13 or chapter 11 case, the debtor education course must be taken (1) after you file your
petition for bankruptcy and (2) no later than the last payment you have to make as required by your
bankruptcy plan, or the filing of a motion for entry of a discharge.
- Is Second Bankruptcy Course an approved provider of the post-filing debtor education course?
- Yes, Second Bankruptcy Course, LLC has been approved by the U.S. Department of Justice's Executive Office
for U.S. Trustees (EOUST) to issue certificates evidencing completion of the post-filing debtor education
course in compliance with the Bankruptcy Code in all jurisdictions, including Alabama and North Carolina.
- How is the debtor education course offered?
- The Second Bankruptcy Course can be completed online or by phone in both English and Spanish.
- How do I complete the course by phone?
- To complete the automated telephonic course, call 1-800-214-7030 Monday through Friday, 8am-8pm EST and a representative will take payment and send you into the course – no appointment necessary. Alternately, you can register online 24/7 and follow the instructions to call into the course. You must provide a valid email address to take the telephonic course.
- How much does the course cost?
- Our post-filing debtor education course is available for $15. If you are filing a joint bankruptcy,
you are only required to pay one fee to take the course.
- What forms of payment do you accept?
- We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover.
- Is the information I submit through this website secure?
- Yes, Second Bankruptcy Course is committed to maintaining your privacy and online confidentiality, including
- How long is the course?
- The post-filing debtor education course takes a minimum of 2 hours. This time requirement conforms to the
Executive Office for U.S. Trustees (EOUST) minimum program guidelines. A timer appears in the upper right
side of the screen during the online course. You cannot be certified if you do not spend at least 2 hours on
- Can joint bankruptcy filers take the debtor education course together?
- Yes, there are no additional fees charged for taking the course together.
- How do I get started?
- You can begin the course online at anytime or call 1-800-214-7030 Monday through Friday, 8am-8pm EST and a representative will take payment and send you into the telephonic course.
- When can I schedule the course?
- No appointment is necessary. You may begin 24/7 online. Alternately, you can call 1-800-214-7030 Monday through Friday, 8am-8pm EST and a representative will take payment and send you into the telephonic course.
- Can another person take the debtor education course for me?
- Yes, if another individual has a power of attorney, they may take the course on your behalf. You may also
obtain assistance from a friend, family member or attorney when completing the course.
- When and how do I receive my certificate of completion?
- After completing the post-filing debtor education course online, your certificate is immediately available to print, download and email. If the course is completed by phone, your certificate will be sent to the email address provided at registration.
- Should I follow up with my bankruptcy attorney once my certificate of completion has been issued?
- Yes. After completing the course, you will have the opportunity to download and email the certificate. It is your responsibility to provide a copy of the certificate to your attorney or email them a copy at this point. Second Bankruptcy Course can reissue the certificate at any time at your request.
- Does my certificate of completion for the financial management course
- The certificate is valid for a certain period of time. Please contact your attorney for additional